Education Policy 2020; Study in mother tongue till 5th class

New Delhi: New education policy is ready to be imposed in the country after three and a half decades. The Union Cabinet approved the proposed policy which would include 3 years of Anganwadi, pre-school education and 12 years of schooling including 5 + 3 + 3 + 4 curriculum. Study in mother tongue / local language till 5th standard; Up to eight and above it is desirable.

Curriculum will also come to pre-school. Basic learning to understand letters and numbers only. Vocational study with internship from 6th class. The Ministry of Human Resources will be renamed as the Ministry of Education. The changes in the field of higher education include a 4-year multi-disciplinary degree course and a public examination for university admission. MPhil will be discontinued.

The government has completely rejected the controversial proposal to make Hindi compulsory. K. No other significant changes were made in the draft recommendations of the Kasturirangan Committee. Sanskrit is also an option in the trilingual learning system. Indian Sign Language (ISL) will be standardized across the country. National and state curricula for the hearing impaired. The Right to Education Act will come into force at the age of 3– 18; It is currently in the 6–14 age range.

By 2030, the minimum qualification for teaching will be a 4-year integrated B.Ed. The National Council for Teacher Education will be formed. Teachers will meet professional standards at the national level. The services of senior and retired teachers will be sought to provide training and guidance to teachers.

These are the main changes of the new education policy:

Higher Education Commission to replace UGC

New Institutions and Systems:

All higher education except medical and legal fields is under the purview of the Higher Education Commission. It is a substitute for UGC.

Multi-disciplinary education and research universities at IIT and IIM levels.

National Research Foundation to promote research.

School Quality Assessment and Accreditation Framework under SCERT for School Standards.

Special section in the Ministry of Online Education.

National Assessment Center called ‘Paraakh’ to formulate evaluation criteria.

Class 10 and 12 board examinations will continue but their nature will change. Compulsory examination in classes 3,5,8.

General Examination by National Testing Agency for University and College Admissions.

Minimize arts, science and academic and extra-curricular activities at the school level.

Evaluation will be based on excellence in learning activities.

Academic Bank of Credit for digital storage of academic credits obtained from higher education institutions. In this way a degree can be obtained on the basis of certain credit.

Facility to complete study in any year of 4 year degree. Vocational Certificate in first year only, Diploma in second year, Degree in third year and Research degree in fourth year.