Centre designates all Metro Cities as Red Zones for Lock down post-May 3

New Delhi : Strict restrictions in the Red Zone districts of the country even after the end of Phase II lockdown. There are 130 districts in the Red Zone. All the major cities in the Red Zone, including Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bengaluru and Ahmedabad. There are two districts in Kerala – Kannur and Kottayam.

Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra have 19 and 14 red zones, respectively. There are 12 districts of Tamil Nadu, 11 districts of Delhi and no activity zones. Of the 733 districts in the country, 284 are in the orange zone. Partial exemptions will be allowed here after the lockdown. Orange Zone consists of 10 districts of Kerala – Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Pathanamthitta, Alappuzha, Idukki, Thrissur, Palakkad, Kozhikode, Malappuram and Kasaragod.

Maximum concessions will be allowed in the Green Zone from 4 this month. There are 319 green zones across the country. The districts of Ernakulam and Wayanad are located in Kerala. There have been no new patients here for the past 28 days. The Union Health Ministry has released the list of districts as zones. Health Secretary Preeti Sudan sent a letter to the Chief Secretary of the state. The letter states that the list will be updated on a weekly basis and will advise on the steps to be taken.

The second phase of lockdown, which was announced to stop the spread of Covid, ends on Monday. The third phase lockdown is expected to come into effect from May 4. Districts where there is no Active Covid Case may make announcements that will restart the business and trade activities and normalize the lives of the people. The central government is likely to announce some of the economic stimulus measures to overcome the Covid crisis.

Leave a Reply